|Content Previous Next|
Task properties is the main area for configuring tasks and navigating between them. It is divided in three main parts:
Located on the left-hand side, it is primarily used to switch between tasks without closing the Task properties window. At also helps to switch to Program Settings or Extension Settings.
Being hidden by default, it can be opened by clicking on the button (located in the bottom left corner). It can be turned permanently visible by enabling the 'Always show navigation tree' option in the Program Settings.
'Add task': opens New Task Assistant that will guide you through task set up.
'Delete task': deletes the selected task. This cannot be undone.
'Duplicate task': creates an exact copy of the selected task. A duplicated task will have the same name as the original ending with the word 'Copy'.
'Move': opens a window where you can select a new position for the selected task.
'Find': opens a dialogue that helps you to find a task with the specified text.
/ 'Show / Hide navigation tree': opens / closes the Navigation tree.
Located in the middle of Task properties, it is the task structure: task will strictly follow the sequence of actions from top to bottom (sometimes, when convenient, we also call them 'steps') specified in the Task Scenario. For example, task will activate first, then it will wait for a start event, then it will transfer files from Source to Target(s) and so on.
The following actions are always present in every task:
The above actions are permanently fixed in Task scenario and cannot be moved up/down and deleted. Note that Backup action can have sub-actions which are all optional; however, if there is no Target within Backup action then no real file operation will be possible.
In some modes certain actions may be unavailable. For example, in the Monitoring mode it is only possible to send messages and execute actions.
All other actions are optional and can be added or removed when necessary. They can also move across task scenario almost without restrictions except that:
'Add action': opens a drop-down menu where you can select an action you need. Some actions are not available in every mode: for example, the 'Backup to' and 'Other' actions exist in the Backup mode only.
'Delete action': deletes the selected action. Note that some actions cannot be deleted (see above).
'Duplicate action': creates an exact copy of the selected action. A duplicated action will have the same name as the original ending with the word 'Copy'.
'Move action up': moves the selected action one level up.
'Move action down': moves the selected action one level down.
'Macro assistant': opens a window with Macro Assistant.
Located on the right-hand side, it is the place where properties of the selected action are displayed.
The following buttons control Task properties:
'Apply': saves all changes made; after saving no changes can be undone. Saving changes requires task to be deactivated (you will be prompted to confirm that when you press the 'Apply' or 'Close' button), so it is not advisable to make any changes to task properties when task is actively performing file or other operations. After changes have been saved, task may be activated again.
'Undo': removes all changes made in task properties and task scenario (this includes moving actions up or down task scenario, actions removed will be restored and actions added will be removed; but this does not include  changes made inside the accounts and  task deletion).
'Close': exits task properties; if changes have not been saved, you will be prompted to save or discard them.
|Content Previous Next|